Notices

Day One

Old 10-06-2010, 03:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day One

Hello there!

My name is Brad, and I'm addicted to Alcohol/pot/cigarettes, or if not available ($$) the only other drug I've tried is Nyquil by the bottle. I know there are probably thousands of newcomers stories so I'll condense mine as much as possible.

I have been drinking a 12-pack of beer every night for three years, while smoking pot daily (about 9 days sober from that), and I smoke a pack of cigarettes a day. I knew it was a problem a couple years ago, but had no interest in curing myself. Well since then, I have lost 80% of my true friends, and made that up with friends that I know I'm going to have to say goodbye to soon. I got a DWI and rode my bike for about two years, partly because I couldn't afford a new car with the $ I was blowing, and partly because I was scared for mine & others lives.

(had pictures here but can't post links for 7 days)

Blacked out driving home from a bar on the highway going appxtly. 70 mph, and hit a guard rail that sliced through my passenger seat. I cannot express the guilt I have felt since then. Close after, my parents went through a nasty divorce, and I know I need to learn how to actually deal with these issues rather than drinking them away.

Over the past few weeks, I have been battling quitting, going 7 days sober, relapsing, 4 days, relapse, 5 days, relapse, and each time it brings me down to where I think this is going to be my life forever. I'm quiet at the outpatient programs and AA meetings, in fear of sounding ignorant, provoking confrontation, and I have just been a hermit alcoholic for a while so the only people I can talk to normally (and usually not even them anymore) is my family and a few friends.