Notices

new to this

Old 10-02-2010, 03:05 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new to this

im new to this so bear with me. i want to quit drinking, but im scared. i have been a heavy user off and on, but never sober. i have a love hate relationship with alcohol. it has caused so many problems in my life and relationships, yet i have so many good memories associated with it as well. is this denial? i come from a family of addiction. my grandmother was an abusive alcoholic, my brother a drug addict, and sister eating disorder. many times i am shunned from the family because my drinking "reminds my mother of her own". so i can never speak about it. i have to conceal it further, even though i wish i could be open about it. i am in therapy, so that helps. i am coming upon graduating from college, which i never thought would happen because of so many obstacles with depression, anxiety, and suicide. so i would think this would be a time of gratitude and elation.......ive worked so hard to get this far and i feel like i know i need to quit drinking. but if i do i want to do it for good.....i guess that is where the fear comes into play.....the inability to stay sober and not accomplishing sobriety. any thoughts please share. i have yet to meet someone battling alcoholism, so i dont feel like anyone can relate, which only perpetuates my denial....if that makes sense. i almost feel dumb when saying "im an alcoholic", like people around me think "ok youre over-exaggerating". is this denial? sorry if i am not conveying my thoughts well.
Old 10-02-2010, 03:09 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Welcome,

I had lots of good times drinking. Until I didn't. It isn't denial, you had some good times. Sounds like the drinking is no longer fun for you.

I found AA to be very helpful in my recovery. You will find LOTS of people at a meeting who totally understand where you are coming from. You will probably find it a big relief to have others who "get it".
Old 10-02-2010, 03:12 PM