Notices

New - from Ohio

Old 09-21-2010, 11:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New - from Ohio

Hi-I'm new to Sober Recovery. I'm a little scared-never done this before. (posted) I've lurked for about 2years, and joined tonight. I've read posts from people who offer solid advice, comforting support and have a passion for sobriety. And I think that's what I need right now. Maybe I feel comfortable that I've found a place where someone 'gets it.' I've been sober for a few years, and I take every day one at a time. My DOC was hydrocodone-all I wanted to do was escape. I rarely drank alcohol-but have stayed away from it for as long as I've been off the pills. (before that I had 2 sips of wine in 18 months) I KNEW what issues were lying below the surface, but I really didn't want to look at them and admit it-the truth hurts, man. So I got help, went thru counseling and like who I am now. I'm still a work in progress, but I'm the REAL me. Everything has been pretty even keel so far, until the last few months. They have been rough, and the past few weeks have been rougher. And probably, the weeks to come will be even a little more difficult than I expect. Unfortunately I can't get to a meeting (illness in the family that prevents me from leaving my mother) so, by joining this forum I'm hoping to head this all off...and I thought maybe being around others who have been there-well,that may just make it a little bit easier. So- Thank you in advance for any help, advice, support and patience you may offer to me. And I'd like to offer the same in return.

PalmTrees

ps-I feel better already.....

Last edited by PalmTrees; 09-21-2010 at 11:17 PM. Reason: add tag
Old 09-21-2010, 11:20 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Welcome to the posting side of things, Palm Trees
Good to have you with us!

D
Old 09-21-2010, 11:47 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Life the gift of recovery!

Welcome to SR, glad you found us.
Old 09-22-2010, 01:36 AM
  # 4 (permalink)