Notices

Day 27 - Doing Well Until Evenings

Old 09-07-2010, 04:11 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Day 27 - Doing Well Until Evenings

Hey all,
I am on Day 27, I finally threw in the towel and went to rehab for 10 days on August 12th, admitted that even though I hadn't lost anything YET, my life was unmanageable and I was on my way downhill.

I have felt pretty good, but come afternoons/evenings, I just want to go into my room and hide! I am a teacher, and I had my first day of school today, and came home, threw in a chicken and made mashed potatoes for my family, and ran in my room. I also do dog rescue, so my poor husband has been stuck feeding and caring for the 16 dogs in my rescue. Guilt!! Guilt!! But nights are tough for me, that is when I drank, and I stop functioning around 4PM. Don't want to drink, but don't want to deal with all my responsibilities either.

Some nights I go to AA, even though I went for a year and didn't like a lot of it, I am taking what I can, and leaving the rest. But nights like this, I am too overwhelmed to even leave the house and make the 45 minute drive.

Will this go away??? Help!!
Old 09-07-2010, 04:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Nancy,

I'm sorry you're having a tough day.

It's good that you went to rehab and are working on recovery. For me, the first few weeks were very hard. I felt like I needed to find new ways to get through the day. I have found that balance is all-important to my recovery and it sounds like you're doing a lot. So, maybe it's okay to ask your family to help out a bit and you don't need to feel guilty.
Old 09-07-2010, 05:18 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Awaiting Email Confirmation

Nancy,