Lost

Old 10-22-2003, 09:55 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Lost

OK, This is my first time post. Going this afternoon to commit my wife as an inpatient at a local hospital for drinking to much. I don't know where to turn right now. I'm mad, sad, hurt, tired. I'm tired of my life and my kids life revolving around her drinking. I'm tired of babysitting her and her drinking habits. But I still love her. What the heck am I gonna do now. I was hoping to get her commited so I can get some rest, but now I'm gonna worry about her in the hospital. What am I suppose to do?? Sorry if I'm not making any sense. If anyone can make any sense of this, what do I do now?
Old 10-22-2003, 10:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
JT
Supply Manager

Welcome!!

What you do is begin to give yourself what you are not getting from the relationship. Your wife drinks and she is not going to stop until she stops. When you can bring yourself to accept that, you are on your way. You can then be free to make decisions based on fact.

There are some great posts at the top of this forum...Melody Beattie has a great book "Codependent No more" which describes in detail what living with alcoholism does to us. It is a family disease and you are affected as well as your children.

I wish you well...make yourself at home here.

Hugs,
JT
Old 10-22-2003, 10:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

I AM,
Welcome here first of all! Second of all, spend some time reading the posts here and see that you are NOT alone in being a spouse of an alcoholic! Just Tired is right...start taking care of you and your needs! Find out how YOU can meet YOUR needs!!!!

While she is gone, don't worry about her...easier said then done I know...but it helps when you do 1 thing for yourself daily! Also, come here whenever you want to vent, it helps and everyone here can relate!!!

Sped teach
Old 10-22-2003, 10:56 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Paused

I am
I know that helpless feeling. There is much we can do.