Notices

Weight GAIN??!!!! vent ahead

Old 09-04-2010, 09:19 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Weight GAIN??!!!! vent ahead

I was so hoping that giving up drinking 4- 5 glasses of wine 5 nights a week, plus the extra munchies that gave me while drinking and the day after drinking munchies would result in a weight loss but the exact opposite has happened. I have gained 4 lbs. in 2 mos. I am a fitness instructor and teach 10 - 12 classes a week plus I work out on my own so lack of exercise is not a problem. I have to say this has me really bummed out. If you read my "scary thoughts" thread earlier this week you know that I have had some feelings of giving up and this may be part of it...Yes...I indulged in some extra sweets when I first stopped but I thought I cut out way more wine calories than those snacks were...so now not only am I not drinking wine but I have to give up "treats" so I can lose this weight...grrrrrrr
Old 09-04-2010, 09:33 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
A work in progress

Yeah, I gained twenty pounds since I got sober.

Still, I'd rather lose the weight again than my sobriety.
Old 09-04-2010, 09:38 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

I gained a few pounds when I stopped drinking, but I had lost weight before that because I wasn't eating properly.

I hope you don't let a few pounds get you down.
Old 09-04-2010, 09:53 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

You sure the 4lbs is fat gain? Muscle isn't weightless and you work out, something to consider. Also, even if it is fat, 4lbs is a small price to be sober.
Old 09-04-2010, 10:06 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

If you are working out regularly, the 4 lbs is water weight. Alcohol dehydrates you, so when you weigh in you have more water in your system. I used to use alcohol to lose water weight to make me feel like I was losing weight. If you would like to see a change cut the salt out of your diet, and quit drinking anything after 7 PM at night, when you weigh in in the AM you should see a difference.
Old 09-04-2010, 01:24 PM