Need some perspective, please

Old 08-22-2010, 04:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need some perspective, please

I'm very new to this, although the scope of my daughter's addiction is very wide. We just found out at Christmas time how addicted she is to oxy and xanax. Now it probably includes heroin or meth, possibly cocaine. We don't know that for sure...but the places and people she hangs with are known users and dealers.

Within the last few weeks she's gone downhill faster than we ever imagined possible. She's homeless, penniless, been beaten, thrown down stairs, threatened. She has been in jail 3 times in the last month and is currently sitting in there begging us to bail her out.

We did the first time...only because we are COMPLETELY naive and have no idea how this works. Learning quickly, though.

She will be 27 tomorrow - in jail. She's called begging, pleading, vowing, bargaining, promising, weeping, sobbing...please help me get out. Saw the judge today and her bail was not reduced and she was not let out on her own recognizance because she had a warrant, besides the things she was in there for (drug paraphernalia and theft). She is waiting - who knows how long, could be up to 60 days - to be transferred to another city on the warrant.

Claims she's learned her lesson, will never do anything wrong again, will do whatever we ask her to do, will never miss another court date. "Just please help me get out. PLEASE. It's totally in your hands. I have no where else to turn. I am your child. I don't want to be in here on my birthday. Please, please, please, please, mom. PLEASE. I'll kill myself in here. I'll go insane, I swear it. I'm in pain and feel sick...please help me."

I realize I don't have to answer the phone. I know that. I just need to know how you get over the guilt of leaving them to twist. We told her we will be there for rehab, for job hunting, for support when she is ready to reclaim her life, but we can't be involved in bail.