Last night

Old 06-20-2010, 07:18 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Last night

My XABF and I broke up over 2 weeks ago, with no contact since. Last night he calls me and asks me over to his place. I am already ready for bed, but he knows how to work on me and I give in. The short walk to his place has my mind spinning... anticipation that he may want to work things out and dread that he may be drunk.
He opens the door and there he is.. smiling, laughing... and drunk.

Long story short, I try to talk to him about his recovery and he calmly replies " this is what I have been doing for the past 30 years, I just cannot stop". Then he asks me "what is wrong with my drinking? who is it hurting?"

I tell him that despite the fact that he has a great job, making big bucks, he has a bigger problem... he lost his marriage over this, his visitation rights are limited, and he has a DUI. Of course, I am getting nowhere fast.

He tries to distract me, trying to kiss me, hug me, touch me, making a total jerk of himself. In an attempt to preserve my own sense of dignity, I get up and leave.

Fast forward to this morning. I wake up, have breakfast, feeling angry. I want to go over to his place and say what happened last night? To tell him what he did was disrespectful. I am full of conflicting emotions. I need help making sense of this so I can do the right thing.
Old 06-20-2010, 07:26 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Climbing hills, flying down...

Hi Groybin,

Boy can I relate! Though the alcoholic in my life is my sister, she used to push the same buttons with me! With her, it was the same thing--calls in which she swore she wasn't drinking, begging me to come over, telling me she needed me. And I would arrive at her place...and she would be drunk. And I would yell, get angry, try to talk to her about recovery, etc. etc. etc. And it fell on deaf ears. And I've come to the realization--slowly, over time--that you cannot reason with an alcoholic when he/she is actively drinking.