Notices

New - Lurker

Old 06-15-2010, 10:05 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New - Lurker

Hi. I am new here. I have been using this site for the last 4 months and it has helped with my 4 months of sobriety which I just wrecked. My problem is an angry husband (easy excuse to drink). When I first found this site I did not post because of his reaction (a bunch of losers - had same reaction to AA). I felt I could go it alone but realize it is too hard. I now know I need support and am reaching out.
Old 06-15-2010, 10:15 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Kody, do you think your husband would say you should "just stop"? That doesn't work for a lot of people if they reach a point in their drinking where they need to reach out.

Do you want to stop for yourself regardless of what he thinks about drinking or does he have an opinion about quitting too?
Old 06-15-2010, 10:21 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Kody,

Please do this for yourself.

Your husband's reaction is out of your control.

We do understand how hard this is and hope you keep reading and posting.
Old 06-15-2010, 10:24 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I have reached out to him. His response is it is my problem.
Old 06-15-2010, 10:30 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  

He is out of my control. But last night when he was doing his usual complaining I said well leave. His response was it was my house and you do not work. If I choose to leave him (which would be my best choice he will make my life hell). I have so much pent up anger with him.
Old 06-15-2010, 10:32 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  

OK, I have to give him credit for understanding that it is something you have to deal with. I suppose I would be jumping to conclusions to think that he would have a problem with whatever option you chose to quit. And I don't know where he stands on his relationship with alcohol, if there is one at all.