Notices

Scared...want it to stick this time

Old 06-14-2010, 08:10 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Scared...want it to stick this time

I have been trying to get and stay sober since early 2008. I have strung together 30, 60, 90 days at a time. I went to inpatient treatment in September 2008. The past few months I have gotten really into recovery and sobriety, then fall off the wagon. I feel like I can't handle life, and I feel hopeless. I think why bother?
Today I am fighting off panic attacks. I can't go to work. I actually hate my job. I am afraid to admit this to anyone (husband, parents, boss) because I have such trouble finding a job (I am a lawyer who is not sure she wants to be a lawyer and whose current job rakes in far less money per month than a job at Walmart would). I am on the verge of bankruptcy, on the verge of going absolutely crazy. I don't know what to do. I know I need to stay sober if I am going to get to the "other side" but I just can't fathom that there is another side worth getting to. I get so anxious and frustrated and feel alone that I binge, drinking most of a 750ml bottle of vodka in a day. Then I'll realize what I have done to my body and get sober for a few days. This past month and a half I have had weekly binges that are 2 days each. I am scared because I don't want to be drunk but I can't stand the way I feel sober, either.
What have other people here done? I could use some advice.

Rebecca
Old 06-14-2010, 08:27 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by lilac0721 View Post
What have other people here done?
My story is similar. I played that game for a couple years, not drinking for a couple months at a time, through various sorts of willpower, outpatient, rehab, doctor's advice, legal pressure, etc.