Notices

I surrender

Old 06-07-2010, 04:51 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I surrender

So tired of this kind of life. On the surface I seem to have it all....but I quietly drink myself to sleep with 2-3 LARGE glasses of wine. I'm rarely publicly drunk because I am a professional person, which is why I am afraid of AA meetings. I have done this before with long periods of sobriety. I just want more from my life: I want to be more productive. I want to feel physically better. I want to become more socially involved. Thanks for letting me vent.
Old 06-07-2010, 04:55 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't resist, allow

Hi, good to see you waving the white flag.

There are a lot of professional people in AA, although a lot of time you would not necessarily guess what people do for a living. No-one has to share anything with people in AA, unless they want to.

If you want to try out a meeting, why not try one outside of your local area first if you are worried about being seen. There's a lot of support in the rooms of AA and people who understand what it feels like to feel like you do right now.
Good luck and keep in touch
Old 06-07-2010, 04:56 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome.. A.A. is Full of Professional Folks.. i Know a Judge and Several others Who All Attend My Home Group Meeting!
Old 06-07-2010, 07:52 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  
SR Fan

Hi 4today! This is a great place to come for support and you're doing the best thing for yourself by quitting now before things get any worse. I drank about the same amount as you, sometimes going for the whole bottle of wine. Even if I told myself in the morning I wasn't going to drink that day, I'd often find myself at the liquor store by mid afternoon.

It's a relief not to have it consume my life anymore, and I know it will be for you too. Keep reading and posting!
Old 06-07-2010, 08:29 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover