Notices

New to recovery

Old 05-27-2010, 01:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to recovery

Hello everyone! I've been lurking on the forums for a while, but this is my first time posting. Anyhow, I'm new to recovery and sobriety and I had a few things I wanted to ask, as I'm not sure how to handle a lot of this...

How would one go about choosing a sponsor? I just started going to this new meeting and I'm in desperate need of a sponsor but I don't know how I should approach anyone, even though they've volunteered...How would I go about this? What should I say?

I just got out of a program and I felt strong and 100% comitted to recovery. However, after a week of being home, the dreaded cravings and urges started up again and now I'm like battling myself over this. I don't want to give in and I won't, but I'm experiencing a Jekyll-and-Hyde deal and I don't like it much. Is this all common? Is it common to be really anxious about everything in general, as well? I have bad anxiety to begin with, but ever since I entered active recovery and came home, I've been a lot more worried and kind of paranoid. I want to do this but I fear I can't.

I just want to stay sober, and I wish all the cravings would go away already. I know that's normal, but it sucks. The longer I stay sober, the more part of me is convinced that I'm not alcoholic/addict because I've refrained for so long (well, 67 days), and that I can use again. However, I know it's not true....it's very tempting though.

Anyway, I'm really sorry about the length of my post, I'm just seeking some advice. Thank you all, this forum is a Godsend.

-Senzafine
Old 05-27-2010, 01:16 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Scars,Souvineers we never lose

Hi I just posted the same ? a little while ago and got some good responses, you should check them out.

Good luck in finding yours, I am praying I find mine tonight at an all womans meeting that I heard is great!

Thats the plan!
<3 Dream
Old 05-27-2010, 01:24 PM
  # 3 (permalink)