Notices

2 months...now confused

Old 05-27-2010, 08:39 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

2 months...now confused

Hi everyone! I'm new to recovery and to this site. This is going to be long, sorry! Today marks 2 months without drinking for me. I'm happy about this, but at the same time I've questioning my recovery alot. I went into treatment for alcohol and was there for 19 days. At first I hated the meetings, and was not very receptive to the 12 step method. I never had any intention of remaining sober for the rest of my life, thinking that once I figured out why I hate people so much I woulden't need to drink the way I did. When I left, I still hated meetings but took my case manager's advice and went to AA on the outside.
In the beginning I really liked AA, even though I'm not convinced alcoholism is for life. I got a sponsor and worked the steps; I felt like I was learning alot about myself and that I was making progress. The people were friendly and I spent time with a few women who I liked.
Lately though it hasen't been the same. I am getting very burnt out on going to meetings, I feel like I hear not only the same stories but the same sentances...many right out of the Big Book. (Not I don't like the Big Book, had it not been for reading the copy given to me I would have left rehab as soon as I sobered up.) I'm not entirely sure why this bothers me, I guess I'm not sure whose experience, strength, and hope I'm really listening to.
Also, I was religious long before coming to AA, and though that would help me becuase I would have no struggles with any of the "higher power" stuff. Not so, but I'm not sure how to explain it.