Notices

Newbie here

Old 05-27-2010, 07:45 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
ALF

Newbie here

Hello Everyone,
Here's my story. I'm 54, female. I exercise 1-1/2 to 2 hours every morning--run, walk, bike; and am vegan (eat no meat, eggs, or dairy). When I get home from work I change clothes, start cooking supper, and pop open a can of beer (light beer only) and continue drinking through supper which is 6-8 cans later. Been doing it for many years. It's my only vice, but I know it's poisoning my body. I stopped for a week or two a few times, but when I felt stressed, I'd pop open can but couldn't stop at just one.

I recently retired from my job of 36+ years so now I can start drinking earlier in the day. I know I need to stop or I'll be up to a case a day.

Right now I on day 3 of no beer. It's hard, especially when I slicing and dicing in the kitchen so I've been drinking lots of water with lemon as a substitute.

I've read the posts on withdrawal and I have never experienced any of the nausea, shakes, etc. Thank goodness.

That's me in a nutshell. Guess I need to get out of the kitchen.

Thanks for listening.
Old 05-27-2010, 07:48 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Alf!!

So glad to see you here!!
Wish you all the best in your recovery
Hope to hear plenty more from you!

If you ever need an ear don't hesitate to talk to me or anyone here!

good luck!!
Old 05-27-2010, 09:02 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Scars,Souvineers we never lose

WELCOME! Today is my 4th day of not drinking beer for many years, folloed by a surgery and job loss that lead me to a lot of free time that lead me to drink earlier and earlier in the day, until it became all day long. I am glad you are catching yourself before you get to that point.