Notices

1st post

Old 05-24-2010, 11:04 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

1st post

Hi SR,
I have been viewing the threads for several months now and have taken great comfort from the compassion displayed. It's with trepidation that I have finally decided to post.
I have steadily drunk for over 20 years, gradually increasing the amount but never getting the high I once achieved. My wife finally got fed up and left taking the children with her (it's probably been said before, but I really can't remember if she left me because I started drinking or I started drinking because she decided to leave). Last year I lost my driving licence for DUI and came very close to dismissal from work. In January I spent 10 days in Detox and didn't pick up again for 6 weeks but took back to the habit like a duck to water. I've done AA meetings both while in detox and after but never really felt anything productive came of it. My Father was a very heavy drinker and one of my sisters is a recovering alcoholic but although there probably is a genetic link I would never blame my parents for any fault of theirs.
I fully realise my life is both unmanageable and insane due to alcohol but even while typing this the one thing I want more than anything in the world is another drink!
My post doesn't really ask any questions but is more just a "thank you" for being there.
Old 05-24-2010, 11:06 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR!! Hope you find help here!! Glad you are here.
Old 05-24-2010, 11:48 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
SR Fan

hi blue2 and welcome to SR! I can relate to that incessant desire to have a drink. No amount of alcohol ever seem to satisfy me until I was asleep in bed. Of course, when I got up the next day, I was shocked to find out how miserable I felt. I really didn't feel buzzed enough the night before to deserve the kind of hangovers that I was starting to get.