Notices

Just Another Drunk

Old 05-13-2010, 06:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Just Another Drunk

Hello All

I've been browsing this site for many months but haven't actually gotten any clean time in until the past week. Last Thursday on my drive to work things kind of came to a head. I car pool to work with my wife every morning and the usual nagging started and i just lost it. I've been contemplating making an effort to become sober for many months but always seem to find an excuse to continue drinking - the wife's nagging has always been a good one. Anyway, she hasn't exactly been supportive during my brief moments of clarity when I have been open to getting some help. I'm usually given negative responses and put downs that only justify (in my mind) the reasons I have been drinking. Well, last Thursday was different. I just yelled over her "I need to stop this now, today! I cannot go another day feeling this way and I fell like I am dying" She continued giving negative feedback such as "you always feel like your dying" (true). But, I yelled louder and made it clear that I would not drink at least that night. I begged her to be prepared to leave work at 5:00 so I could go straight home instead of the bar so i could at least stay sober for at least one day. She eventually relented as she could see the desperation coming out of me. Well, I haven't had a drink since Wednesday of last week and I really feel like I am on my way.

My story is not unique. Alcoholic Father, half of my siblings are alcoholics. Most people on dad's side of the family are alcoholic. I first drank around age 12, smoked weed since 16, did a ton of acid and mushrooms, a little coke, etc. The drinking really didn't become problematic until about 10 years ago in my a late 20's. I managed to make it through college mostly smoking weed with an occasional keg party. As my 20's passed, beer became my drug of choice.