Notices

I have accepted the fact that....

Old 05-13-2010, 07:42 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I have accepted the fact that....

Hello All,
I am a single dad and have finally accepted the realization the I actually NEED alchohol and marajuana to deal with stress in my life. I grew up

the son of a single mom who was a hardcore alchoholic(vodka was drink of choice) and prescription drug abuser. She was never there for me and she eventually died from it at a young age shortly after I left home at 18.
I have been abusing alchohol since I was a young man. However, with the acception of the occasional over drinking, I have never been hardcore meaning I used to only abuse alchohol in social situations. I picked up marajuana in college and went so far as to cultivate it quite successfully in my apt for a good 4-5 years. That really got me hooked. Now I think what sets me apart is that I have a certain degree of control over my addiction. I

would not consider myself out of control. If I do drink daily, it is usually just enough to 'catch a buzz' and unlike most of the people that I

am familiar with that smoke marajuana, when I smoke, I may only take one small hit at night after I put my son to sleep. Most smokers that I have been exposed to smoke way too much. So growing up with a

hardcore addict I know how bad it can get. At the same time, I may not be out of control but I pretty much need one or the other on a daily

basis. I have always been good at looking inward and trying to keep myself in check but the fact of the matter remains that I really feeled

'compelled' to have one or the other on a daily basis.
I really want to quit. Maybe this is not ruining my life right now but I am not living the fullest life I could be living as a result of the

need to modify my mind with alchohol and drugs every day. I do believe life would probably be much fuller without it. I have looked at 12 step