Cant help it

Old 05-01-2010, 10:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Cant help it

Hello everyone. This is my first time posting here so I´m sorry if this isnt the correct place to post. I cannot sleep my mind is going round and round. I just dont know if my husband is some sort of alcoholic and maybe you can help me! Im very unhappy but he makes me think Im crazy and that I just want to control him... maybe hes right??? Weve been married for two years and it has never changed, he never drinks during the week but when the weekend comes he will ALWAYS get drunk at least one day. He gets very very drunk, I tell him to stop when I see hes had too many but hewont. It is always socially (with his friends, who all drink like that) he never drinks alone. He gets extremely drunk every time and then I have to drive us home, he sometimes shouts and me and makes scenes in front of other people, or sometimes when we get home he fights with me after I confront him about getting drunk again (he tells me im crazy) he has gotten into physical fights with other men while under alcohol effects, he has never gotten physical with me. Please help me understand if Im crazy! should I see a therapist? Am I exaggerating?
Thank you all... Im just so sad I feel Im trapped but I love him but sometimes I just want to leave him...
Old 05-01-2010, 10:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

You are in the right place. Welcome! Glad you are here. No, you are not crazy. Yes, your husband has a problem with alcohol but only he can say whether or not he is an alcoholic. You do have places such as this forum and even Alanon can help you. The focus will be to help you get better, whether or not he decides to. You no longer have to be a prisoner of his addiction. Keep posting. You are not alone.
Old 05-01-2010, 10:41 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you.. I think I really need this Im so sad and frustrated
Old 05-01-2010, 11:01 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Palomita,