I am new here

Old 04-28-2010, 09:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
DBF

I am new here

I am new to internet forums. I just needed some place to turn to see if I am as alone in my situation as I feel I am.

My wife of 20 years is an alcoholic. She has been an alcoholic for about 10 years. She gets home from her part time job by 3 pm and most days she is passed out drunk by 5:30 pm. She has not been fired or arrested for DUI so I guess she is a "functional alcoholic".

I get so ashamed of her being drunk, especially in front of our 14 year old son. I am too ashamed to take her out to dinner when she is drunk.

I have tried to talk to her about her drinking but she refuses to engage in a conversation. She just goes glassy-eyed and agrees to whatever I am saying to end the conversation as soon as possible. I never see any results. I have tried to tell her that there is a time and a place for getting drunk. No luck. I have asked her to cut back. No luck. I have asked her not to get drunk in front of our son. No luck. I have asked her to flat out quit drinking. No go. I have even told her that if she doesn't quit I will take our son and leave her. Still no effect.

My nights are the worst. I feel so lonely and frustrated. I made a vow to her to stand by her for better and for worse, in sickness and in health. But after years of struggling with this I am reaching the end of my patience. I keep wondering how my happiness and well being balance in the cosmic scales of right and wrong? Am I a terrible husband for feeling like I am at the end of my rope?

Recently I have been thinking that in three years my son will have graduated high school and will most likely move out on his own. At that time I can leave her and not be leaving my son under a bad influence.

So, now I have ran on with my sob story. Am I alone in this situation? Does anyone else understand what I am going through?

Thanks for listening.

DBF
Old 04-28-2010, 09:25 PM
  # 2 (permalink)