Notices

Has anyone taken medication?

Old 04-19-2010, 08:30 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Has anyone taken medication?

I was just wondering if anyone has been prescribed medication at the start of their sobriety? I'm calling the doctor tomorrow...it's time.
Old 04-19-2010, 08:42 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi HVACRGirl

Welcome

I have never taken any meds for my alcoholism or my withdrawal, so I have no experience to offer.

I know many have though - and I'm sure others will want to share their experiences with you...but we can't definitively recommend anything here, as it's against our policy to give out medical advice.

Ultimately the best idea is to discuss things honestly and openly with your Dr, and see what they suggest

D
Old 04-19-2010, 08:56 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Thank you for the welcome and your reply.

Just so anyone that reads this aware, I am not asking or expecting medical recomendations, (I respect the policies of the forum) I was just wondering if they still use medications. I don't hear much about them anymore.
Old 04-19-2010, 09:09 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

My experience mirrors Dee's and we both have been
sober for years.
No meds used for de tox or my alcoholism.

There are some AA members I know who take meds
for various chronic mental conditions. That allows them
to be both balanced and sober.

I think checking with your doctor is wise.
Good for you!

Welcome to our recovery community...
Old 04-19-2010, 09:24 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Some doctors believe that a person should be sober for a couple of months before deciding if pharmacological treatment is necessary. Others believe that a more aggressive approach is the way to go. Ultimately, the decision is up to you and your doctor.

My experience: