In a relationship with recovering addict

Old 04-02-2010, 12:27 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

In a relationship with recovering addict

Im new to this...
I am in the begining throws with a recovering addict. He is almost 1 year sober. Although we have been friends off and on for 15 years due to distance and life. We have recently reconnected and I am down right crazy about him. I am concerned about how a relationship will affect his sobriety...
He has a child from a previous relationship and doesn't get to be a part of her life as much as he would like. My boyfriend desperatly wants a family a normal life as he calls it. I love him and want to have a family with him but how does one know if he is ready?
I would have to relocate to make this normal life happen and am willing to do so just for the right time... and not to jepordize his recovery...
Any suggestions?
Old 04-02-2010, 12:45 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Why doesn't he get to be a part of her life as much as he would like? Is it because of his past behavior? He's not even a year sober?

I wouldn't pack your bags for the big move just yet. Aren't you a little bit concerned about jeopardizing YOUR emotional well being? It sounds like you're spending most of your time worrying, analyzing, and pondering him and what's good for him and what would help him. What about you? Have you ever dated an addict before?

My suggestion would be to take your time. Theres no rush, right?
Old 04-02-2010, 01:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Welcome! This is a wonderful place to learn and share.

I agree with KP . I am currently divorcing my alcoholic husband of 22 years. He is still actively drinking.

1.If I ever get into a new relationship there will be huge red flags if I concentrate on the other person and analyze too much of his behaviour.
2.I also would want to see if he can truly be good to me as I want to be to him.
3.I would want to accept him/the situation as it is and not want to control him or the situation to be to my advantage.