Family Coping with a child abuser

Old 03-24-2010, 03:58 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Family Coping with a child abuser

Hi everyone,

I am new to this and need some advice with how to cope with my child's drug abuse. I want to be able to help her wiht the help of everyone in my family. What are some of the ways in which you and your family members work with the abuser to cope with situation????
Old 03-24-2010, 05:04 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome, asartini. You will find many of us here who have children in active addiction. You are not alone.

How old is your child, and how long has she been abusing drugs?

My daughter is now 32 and has been abusing drugs/alcohol since she was 15 years old.

I can tell you that it is possible to have a happy and full life in spite of having a child in active addiction.

What has helped me the most is having my own program of recovery through Alanon, and learning from those who have walked the path before me.

I hope you continue to post, and know you are among friends who care, okay? :ghug3
Old 03-25-2010, 01:54 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Ann
Nature Girl

Although we cannot save them, only they can decide to find recovery and usually the pain of using has to become greater than the fear of stopping, before they can do that, we can find help for ourselves.

If love could save our addicts, not one of us would be here. But just as there is hope for them, there is hope for us too.

Some of the things that help most are things that we "don't" do...

I don't give my son money under any circumstance, because no matter how good and well told the story, the money usually ends up going to pay for drugs.

I don't solve his problems anymore. He cannot learn responsibility if he never gets to practice.

I don't bail him out of jail, or pay lawyers to make sure he doesn't have to go. He needs to learn that there are consequences to his actions and he won't learn if I keep robbing him of the lesson.