new and need help

Old 03-24-2010, 03:50 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new and need help

i am very new to this....i am a mother with 2 little girls....my sister is an alcoholic. Right now she is detoxing, in a cardiac unit of a hospital in california. we have never been close..but this is another story. my family has been dealing with this for about 15 years now....when we think that she has hit the bottom...she gets back up and goes for it again. i am so mad and hurt...because my kids adore her...and it kills me that this is where we are in life right now...please help!!
Old 03-24-2010, 03:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
peaceful seabird

Welcome to the Sober Recovery Family!

We're glad you found us! I am glad your sister is getting medical help for her detox as it can be dangerous. I hope that she is ready to embrace sobriety for life this time.

You will find lots of support and information for yourself here.

Have you attended any Alanon meetings? They offer face to face support for friends and family of alcoholics. The steps and principles are based on the same 12 steps of AA.

Pull out your keyboard and make yourself at home by posting and reading as much as needed.
Old 03-24-2010, 04:12 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
get it, give it, grow in it

Your sis is very sick.
Maybe you can simply have compassion.
this does not mean you have to fix, help, or even have her around.

Just keep her in a special place in your heart.. If she could do better she would.
Addiction is a terrible place and no one knows this more than your sis. No one feels more shame abt. it than her.
Old 03-24-2010, 04:26 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
same planet...different world

hi shan welcome to SR!

I hope you'll read the stickies at the top of the forum...
and if you're looking for a better understanding
of the disease of alcoholism
please feel free to read the stickies
at the top of the Alcoholism forum.

There's also information there
about resources for your own well being
during this time