Finally spoke to my daughter today

Old 03-22-2010, 06:21 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Finally spoke to my daughter today

I think I mentioned a bit a few days ago about some texts between my daughter and myself. For background, see post from a week ago Saturday:

http://www.soberrecovery.com/forums/...ughter-er.html

I asked through the phone if she planned to stop over when she got back into town and she said "I'm sure I'll just hear the same things you've been saying for the past two years." I told her it was my intention to mostly just listen, and be a sounding board or a support person for her.

We work at the same place (I know, unfortunate, but it is as things are right now) and I am a professional, never mix personal with work, but I discreetly asked her today if she would sit with me for a few minutes after the end of the workday, when no one would be around. I reiterated what I had planned to say to her, which was really just to listen and hear what she was thinking, if her perspective has changed. She said obviously it has, but she truly does not agree with me, that she's actually an alcoholic (even though I haven't used that word, we know what I think). She doesn't drink every day, she can certainly have fun without it - she did for the past week in Florida with her friends - and it's just that she was very excited to be on her first vacation outside the family, spring break, etc. She over-did it. Case closed. I nodded, and then I said "so, you don't believe your dad is?" That threw her a little, said "huh?" I said "do you not think your dad is an alcoholic; he did go to rehab for it." She didn't say anything except "I don't really know about if he is or not. He never drank in our house." I said "that's true, but what happened with your dad, was that every once in awhile, he would drink way too much. And he would not recognize that it was happening, he just wanted to have fun and whereas some people can recognize when it's time to stop, he sometimes cannot. I