Notices

Things Destroyed

Old 03-18-2010, 09:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Things Destroyed

I am very new to the recovery process and just want to feel human again. I'm afraid of the detox process because it might reveal my secret. (Closet drunk) I get sober for a couple of days then my body starts to show signs on my addiction. For some ungodly reason I feel that I have to keep that secret, so I drink again. It is completely insane. I get that. But hey, that is what addiction does right? Makes you bat crap crazy. I have been on the board for a couple of weeks now and it has helped me so much. Makes me feel that I am not alone.

I am really struggling with regret these days. I get sober only to see myself fall back again. Me trying to protect my stupid secret. Gah, I just don't get it! Why am I destroying everything to protect this stupid little bottle? Why in the hell am I so afraid of telling the people I care about that I am an alcoholic?
Old 03-18-2010, 09:35 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forward we go...side by side-Rest In Peace

It's not imperitive you tell everyone you are an alcoholic.

I think those close to you might already guess
you are having some type of problems.
Heck! it might be a relief to them to know what is
going on and how you are planning to get sorted out.

Why not have an honest face to face talk?
Start with 2 loved ones.....why hide the truth?
Your way is not working out to your benefit.

Please be brave....and take action...
Recovery really rocks.
Old 03-18-2010, 09:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi BlueBlaze

First off, I know lots of folks here who've never said a word to anyone, but they got sober. Don't let your alcoholic mind rationalise excuses for you.

To be frank, there's no valid excuse for drinking once we accept what it does to us.