Notices

day 1 of sobriety

Old 03-04-2010, 12:53 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

day 1 of sobriety

Hello, i have been wanting to give up smoking and drinking for a while and only seem to manage a little while before the strong urge comes and i start again, i too have to smoke when i drink and i dont smoke otherwise so its really annoying to go 4days without either, then the urge is so strong i think i deserve a pack of 10 and half bottle whiskey any advice anyone?
Old 03-04-2010, 05:36 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Marie,

Welcome!

I moved your post to a thread of its own so you could get a proper welcome.

The urges don`t usually last too long and you can get through them by distracting yourself and doing something else. Getting through the urges gets easier as time goes by.
Old 03-04-2010, 06:00 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
at peace

Hi Marie, congrats on day one! I just about got my 4th day licked..so I'm a newbie sober person (if their is such a thing). I smoked last summer and went three months without drinking. Smoking was something to fall back on. I went from quitting smoking to quitting drinking and had a tough time doing both at once. Think of as many reasons you can to quit both. I bet you can come up with so many reasons it isn’t funny. I found exercise to be a big help to come clean because it's a new positive habit replacing the old bad habits or try a new hobby. Something you never tried before and just immerse yourself in it. I've heard you have to train and reprogrammed your brain into a different habit. It may take a while but if you stick with it...you will forget about your old destructive habits...good luck!
Old 03-04-2010, 07:03 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by marie1956 View Post
...i too have to smoke when i drink and i dont smoke otherwise so its really annoying to go 4days without either
Welcome to you both, Marie and Tomw!