Notices

What should I expect with rehab?

Old 01-25-2010, 08:17 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

What should I expect with rehab?

Hi All. Newbie here. I am going to a treatment facility tomorrow. Has anyone else gone this route? What was it like? Will I have opportunities to read, call my family, listen to music? How were your experiences?
Old 01-25-2010, 08:23 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Have you already detoxed? Rehab for what drug?
Old 01-25-2010, 08:32 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Alcohol rehab. I am going to inpatient detox. I have not detoxed yet.
Old 01-25-2010, 09:34 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Are you going for detox, rehab or both? You do understand the difference between detox and rehab right?
Old 01-25-2010, 09:35 PM
  # 5 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by Daisykisses View Post
Will I have opportunities to read, call my family, listen to music?
I can answer based on my experience: The Big Book, once a week, and absolutely not.
Old 01-25-2010, 09:44 PM
  # 6 (permalink)  

Well it is a rehab center. My main objective of my stay there is detox. I know that rehab will continue through attending meetings. So, yes, there will be meetings and therapy sessions as well.
Old 01-25-2010, 10:02 PM
  # 7 (permalink)  

Medical detox is a hospital like setting, look for it to be 5 - 7 days. In rehab, this should be a minimum of 28 days.

Question: How is it that you don't know the rules of a facility that you are already going to?
Old 01-25-2010, 10:36 PM
  # 8 (permalink)  

If you have inpatient rehab, expect to be very busy. Keep your mind and ears open. When I went, there was hardly any "down time" between classes, therapy and meetings. I learned a lot that has served me well.

Good luck and keep us posted on your progress.

Love,

Lenina
Old 01-26-2010, 12:15 AM
  # 9 (permalink)  
Rockstar