Notices

Changing!

Old 01-20-2010, 03:24 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
everything is already ok

Changing!

I have been doing the same work since 1979 and until I relapsed, until then it was great, I wrote many books, worked on many games and loved my work, I was very passionate about it. I started a business in Australia and that went well too and then I relapsed and lost the business and I realise now I lost the passion for my work. I sold my services to the highest bidder and did soul destroying work and worked for companies I did not approve of.

Today I am having trouble doing any design or programming at all and I think its because of my association with the work I did when I was using. Consequently I dont get many job offers as putting out that kind of energy is not attractive and I really dont want to work for those giant coorporations anymore. So I have decided to look around for something completely new. Its an odd feeling as I am so identified with what I do for a living. I guess I will always keep my hand in, but time to mix it up for a while.

In recovery I can do anything as I need never do this alone. Thank you guys for showing me the doorway to freedom.

Kevin
Old 01-20-2010, 03:32 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!
Originally Posted by nogard View Post
I have decided to look around for something completely new. Its an odd feeling as I am so identified with what I do for a living. I guess I will always keep my hand in, but time to mix it up for a while.

In recovery I can do anything as I need never do this alone.
I've been doing the same thing for so long that I don't know anything else, it's just a paycheck that pays the bills but it's not something I can take home, I just don't love it that much. I have a fear of the new and unknown, I'm afraid to do anything else.