Notices

Cannot seem to kick my opiate addiction

Old 01-16-2010, 11:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Cannot seem to kick my opiate addiction

I wish I woulda never swallowed that first pill!!! I have been taking opiates for years off and on...but for the last 2 years I have not been a day without them. Oddly nobody except my husband, and the people I buy them from even know. I really want to stop taking them. I have been tapering down, because cold turkey is not an option for me. I am a property manager of a large apartment community, so missing work is not an option. I am also a mother of 3...so I cannot be sick or in bed. My biggest problem is, I think about the high...so even though I am not using much at all now, it is still on my mind all the time. I hate it!!! At my peak I was taking 10-15 perks, tabs, or oxys a day...or as many as I could get my hands on. Now I can take 2-4 perk 10's in a day and be ok. So, I think that most of what I am experiencing now is not a physical addiction now, but I am still mentally needing to swallow those pills. I really dont know....if anyone has any suggestions on how I can kick this problem, please help me! Thank you
Old 01-16-2010, 11:46 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Don't resist, allow

Hi and welcome.

Can you get to an NA meeting?
Old 01-16-2010, 01:17 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Th3Natu12al
Welcome to SR.

I have no direct experience, but my general advice is always to see a Dr, and to check out face to face support options like NA.

I realise there are many factors at play here - your job, your kids, the secrecy - but I think it's fair to say if you really want to stop taking them, you have make that a main priority too.

If you like, visit our substance abuse forum where there will be other people with experience of your situation.

Substance Abuse - SoberRecovery : Alcoholism Drug Addiction Help and Information

D
Old 01-16-2010, 01:35 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Administrator

Dee is right.