The end of the world? Advice please

Old 01-11-2010, 01:56 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

The end of the world? Advice please

So, my boyfriend has been doing quite well so far this year. He hasn't been completely drunk yet at all, and as far as I know has only drank alcohol once, but it may be more. Even so, he has managed to control it and has not been drunk. While I know this is good, I am expecting the inevitable. He can't keep that up for long and I am jsut waiting for the big blow out. I'm trying to not get carried away but that is easier said than done. I'm happy he seems to be coping with it better, but want to stay realistic.

When the inevitable happens and he gets drunk and lies about it again, I'm just now sure how to react. I will feel disappointed and upset, and I know at first I'll feel like it is the end of the world, and that it means he will never get sober so we can't possibly work etc etc. But really it isn't the end of the world is it? I'm still quite new to all of this, and am trying to figure out how best to deal with these situations.

Do I get angry at him? Tell him I'm disappointed, or that it is OK and that he shouldn't worry too much about it? I just don't know the most beneficial approach (beneficial both for me and him). I don't think there is any point getting really angry and going on and on about it, but I can't just ignore it and pretend it didn't happen. I don't want to make him feel even more guilty, but he needs to know it is not OK.

Any help is most welcome. I don't mean to sound so negative about it all -but I want to try to be realistic. I have faith in him but I have had faith in him before. Thanks for reading.
Old 01-11-2010, 01:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Just to make sure I understand what you're asking.........

You want advice on how to react to something that hasn't happened yet? Is that what you're asking?

L
Old 01-11-2010, 02:09 PM
  # 3 (permalink)