Notices

oxycodone quit help

Old 12-30-2009, 10:14 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

oxycodone quit help

Hello im very new to this... My doctor about 8 months back gave me 30mg of oxycodone (little blue pill) take every 4-6 hours. when i first started taking them made me sick...doc said i had to get used to them. I pulled my back out bad at work. I have been taking up to 5 or 6 a day now and no reason but addiction and that little buzz . keep going back to the docs and askin for more. Im not the same...me,friends, and girlfriend dont like it. Im very scared of the withdrawl symtoms. I am a career firefighter for about 6 years. I really dont want to lose my job. Im 25 years old and also a smoker. I quit smoking using chantix but year later back to them. I tried stoping the oxycodone cant sleep because i cant stop moving. What should I do? take less and less each day or just set a date and stop? How lond does withdrawl last? what are some of the symptons? I have support from my gf and friends. I did a search on the web and found a over the counter withdrawl help pill... anyone ever use this? I just need some help. I really just want to never take them again.

Thanks

Happy New Year to all!!
Old 12-30-2009, 10:33 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

ok a good starting place might be to call your doctor and tell him the truth...

We don't give medical advice here, but....people here can share their experinces with you and support you

I haven't personally gone through withdrawal from oxy and never have taken a "withdrawal" pill....

but i wanted to say hello and let you know you are welcome and I'm glad you found this site.
Old 12-31-2009, 12:12 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi fireman
Welcome to SR

What should I do? take less and less each day or just set a date and stop? How lond does withdrawl last? what are some of the symptons?
Like Ananda said, we can't give medical advice here. In my opinion, your best bet is to speak with your doctor about tapering and withdrawal Fireman.