Another Newbie Here, and i need help

Old 12-07-2009, 06:41 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Another Newbie Here, and i need help

I recently began dating someone that has been in recovery for a little over 3 years. Things in the relationship were going AWESOME, couldnt be any better. Eventually, we got into one disagreement, and things were just never the same. I have constantly supported my GF by encourageing her to go to meetings (just suggesting and reminding).

Roughly a week had past since our disagreement, and as i felt things were starting to get better, I noticed that she was starting to withdrawl and push me away. not psycicaly, but mentally and emotionally. she used to be a big cuddler while sleeping, now she slept on the other side of the bed. Just little things like that. I didnt say anything, just observed for a bit.

Yesterday, she got up real early and told me that she didnt know what was going on with her but she was in a funk and needed to figure it out. She was going to meet with her sponser and go to a meeting, i said ok, take it one day at a time.

Needless to say, after her meeting she went to a friends house, who is also in recovery (and just got out of a bad relationship) and wouldnt return any of my calls all day. last night when she did finally text me, she asked me if i was coming over with the kids as we had planned. Being that i hadnt heard from her all day, i didnt have a clue what was going on, so i didnt prepare the kids to go. When i suggested that i would like to know what is going on, before i came over, she text me and said that im a great guy but shes not ready willing or able to be in a relationship right now.

This is the part that confuses me the most. All along she has been saying that she loved me and all the normal things that people do in a relationship, and it felt sincere. Just one day something changed.