Please welcome JB17

Old 11-24-2009, 04:26 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Please welcome JB17

Hello - I am new to this...my husband is only 2 weeks sober and here's how everything has gone so far...
He couldn't get close enough to me until yesterday. telling me how much he loved me, how he knows he's hurt me, etc. I stayed in with him, took care of him, made sure he ate, etc.
As of yesterday, he starts pulling away and today even worse. I had suggested that we go to a counselor together just to make sure we were doing things right - he went, but is now mad at me. Says he was "ganged up on" - I have never spoken to this counselor before, so how can that be?
He is now telling me he wants me to leave him alone - I just don't know what's going on here? Is this what happens sometimes?
Old 11-24-2009, 04:50 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Hi JB and welcome to SR. New sobriety is often difficult for everyone involved. You don't mention if your husband went to treatment or meetings. I know that when my loved one was making changes, I had to find a support group of my own. I was able to attend Al Anon meetings which helped me to understand what was going on and to keep my focus on myself.

Hopefully others will be along soon to offer their own experience, strength and hope.
Old 11-24-2009, 04:54 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
To thine own self be true.

Hi JB17, the "you guys are ganging up on me," accusation is rather familiar o me. I have heard it from my father for years. He is in advanced alcoholism.

I think there will be a lot of crazy things going on while your hubby works through what he is working through. You may want to take a big step back and let him take the reins. He needs to identify when he needs to get help, and he needs to reach out for that help. When you do these things for him, you put yourself in the line of fire to take the blame for whatever goes "wrong" with him.