Boundaries and Anger

Old 09-08-2003, 02:55 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Paused

Boundaries and Anger

Hi everyone. I need to vent so I hope I don't say something that will affend (I know I spelled that wrong) anyone.

I have been working in the same type work for almost 23 years now. The pay is very good but it is a very high stress, demanding (mentally) job. I think I have told before I am a respiraatory therapist and I don't know how many more days I can take of it. It isn't so bad if everybody is doing well but when you have those days where one after another and on and on of people needing you RIGHT NOW!! I just can't take it. I have needs too, and even though it isn't their problem that I have needs I don't know how to draw the line and say enough is enough.
I just got back from the Psychiatrist who says I have you on the right meds now you need to learn to set boundaries. I know what they are but I have never believed that I deserve to be able to set them.
I stay so angry because I have these needs and I can't or don't seem able to meet them. I sort of realize that nobody else is responsible for getting them met. But God I grew up thinking if I took care of everybody that they in turn would take care of me.
I am scared I am just going to explode one of these days or finally and truely have that total mental breakdown I have felt I was so close to all these years.
I get so jealous of other peoples happiness or lives. I had such big dreams but I was never taught how to take care of myself. I was taught how to for everybody else.
I know I am rambling so I'll try to finish up, I need to get into a new career but I have no idea what it would be. Ya know get used to making a certain ammount and then I have so many medicines and other bills I don't know if I can make it on a lesser salary, but I don't think I can continue on as I am.