Needing help!!!

Old 08-28-2009, 10:32 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy Needing help!!!

This is my first time posting and I feel like I could really use some advice!

My mother has been dealing with alcoholism for the past four years. She has been in and out of inpatient rehab facilities, yet nothing seems to really work.

Recently she left for three days, which is typical for her. She will leave home for a few days at a time and binge drink. Well this time what happened was she got into an accident, luckily only hit a tree and a street sign. She was sent to the hospital and we found out that her BAC was .519!!!! Everyone was suprised that she was nto dead or in a coma, but she was alive due to her tolerance.

She stayed in the hospital for about five days and was released a few days ago, and is already expecting all priveledges as she once had. My father and family believe that she needs to have consequences for her actions, specifically drinking to that severity and driving drunk. So he took her car keys away from her, and she is unable to drive her car. She also got a DWI, but her license have nto gotten suspended yet.

I am just looking for some advice! We are very tired of her and the unsafe stunts she still seems to pull. We have gotten to know alot about alcoholism including our dos and don'ts of living with an alcoholic.

I amjust hoping that I can get some advice, she goes to AA meeting and they try to tell her that my father should give her the keys back to her car. Yet we disagree!!!

Help! Desperately seeking advice from others who have been in our shoes!!
~~ Allison
Old 08-28-2009, 11:11 PM
  # 2 (permalink)