Notices

New to this

Old 07-30-2009, 10:35 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

New to this

Hello. This is my first attempt to gain support from others so I can stop drinking. I've been to one AA meeting before, and it's just not for me, so I thought I should give this a shot. My story:
I started drinking when I was in high-school around 16 yrs. old. My dad died when I was 11. Once he was gone, my much older, alcoholic brother started to take advantage of my mother. Over the years, he would move in and out, due to not having a steady job. I was living a nightmare during my teens. Constant non-sense arguing, yelling, broken windows, walls, doors. Calling the police once a month on him. When i was 20, my mother sold the house and got herself a nice little condo. I found a place with my boyfriend. These past seven years, I have found myself drinking more and more often. At first, I was able to somewhat control it - drinking on the weekends, socially, but still passing out at the end of the night. I got one DUI three years back. That didn't stop me from drinking. Since then, my drinking habits have gotten worse.
I can no longer have one drink and be able to control myself. Once I have a drink, I continue until I pass out. The scary thing is that there is a point where I should pass out, but I don't. My mind goes blank, I'm still awake for many hours, but I have no idea what I was doing, or what happened.
I'll wake up in a bed full of **** and nasty injuries.
Unfortunately, my boyfriend witnesses my freak outs. According to him, when I get to that still awake/passed out mode, I become very violent, verbally abusive, and dangerous to myself and others. I become a totally different person that is the opposite of the sober me.