I Feel So Ashamed

Old 07-24-2009, 12:46 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

I Feel So Ashamed

No matter what I seem to do, I just can't make my bills. I realize that a lot of people are in this situation right now, but I am just falling apart. My ex got laid off and therefore my child support was reduced by him. I have contacted the state re: investigating what he says he is making because I know for a while he was making 3200 and I was only getting 200 - not 28% by anyone's math.

I tried to talk to him today re: getting more money only to be told I shouldn't be asking - I have never been able to support myself anyway so why does it matter. I said if I didn't have the kids to take care of all the time then I could work any hours whatsoever, even 2 jobs if needed. I have a college degree, true. And I haven't used it. Why? How about 2 little kids (one of them ADD), an alcoholic ex? Other people stay home and their spouses work (like his brother and his sister in law) and that means they are doing what is in the best interest of the kids. When I do it, I "need to get off my ass and get a REAL job" instead of working overnight in retail. Oh, and did I mention he wouldn't have the $ to pay for his share of daycare even if I did get a day job?

I took it out on the kids, sorry to say. Yelled at both of them, sent them to their rooms and even told the ADD one that sometimes I wish she were someone else's kid after I found out someone broke my cell phone charger.

Got mad and broke the phone with my bare hands.

Then I started heaving and ran into the bathroom.

I apologized to the ADD child and finally just sat down and told her, without laying blame on the ex, that mommy just isn't getting the support she used to b/c dad is getting paid less.