Should I write my Mom?

Old 07-21-2009, 07:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Thumbs down Should I write my Mom?

I'm totally new to this, but nobody else I know can relate. It's kind of a long story but if anyone could offer some advice, I'd really appreciate it.

I'm 20 years old, growing up my mom was my best friend. When I was 9 years old her and my dad separated and since then she's been in and out of jail and rehab more times than I can count. I've tried everything I can think of. Visiting her on the weekends, going to AA meeting with her, keeping in touch through letters, ignoring her all together and cutting her off. Nothing seems to work and she just gets in deeper and deeper. Since last July I've talked to her once, the day before my birthday in February, she got arrested the next day and has been in since then. I love her and when she's in jail and we're writing we get along fine. But as soon as she's out she draws me into all of her issues and I can't keep doing that anymore. I'm wondering if it's time to just cut her off until she can clean up or if I should try to maintain some kind of relationship, even if its just a letter here and there.

Any suggestions would really help. More than anything I want to know her. But I don't want to keep setting myself up for disappointment.
Old 07-21-2009, 07:55 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hey Tout! Welcome to our little corner here on SR

First of all, your boundary-setting with your mom is very impressive! Learning to draw lines at unacceptable behaviors with parents is a hard step for many, many people. It takes a lot of perspective to recognize exactly what you describe - that once she draws you into her issues, it's too much for you. I can only imagine how hard it must have been to first make the decision to limit her to letters.

More than anything I want to know her. But I don't want to keep setting myself up for disappointment.