Notices

New at this - looking for support

Old 07-17-2009, 06:07 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Unhappy New at this - looking for support

I just found this website today, and I thought that it might be some help... I haven't ever posted to any kind of forum before, so I'm new at this.

Anyways, I've been feeling pretty hopeless about my drinking lately. It started when I was 14. I always had older friends, so I had unlimited access to alcohol from an early age. I didn't start small either. Even when I was that young, and all through high school, I always had at least 1 bottle of liquor in my nightstand at all times. I have drank almost every day since then. In high school, I always drank the hard stuff, and a lot of it. Then, I didn't think it was a problem at all. In my mind I was just being rebellious, and I thought it was cool.

I went to college, and it just got worse. I had a lot more friends that were over 21, and I had money, so I always had a lot of alcohol. I used to stock up on it, because I was afraid of running out and not having anyone to buy it for me. I lived by myself for the most part, so I could drink as much as I wanted at home and no one would know.

I'm going into my 4th year of college now. For a few years I have dismissed the idea that I could be an alcoholic because I'm too young. But I can't deny it anymore - all the signs are there. I'm almost afraid to quit drinking - when I don't drink for even a day, I feel really sick, and I get so agitated that I can't even be around anyone. I want to quit, but one of my fears is that I'll have a seizure or something. I don't know how physically dependent I am.