Notices

just starting out

Old 06-26-2009, 09:33 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

just starting out

hello everyone. i'm new to sr within the past few days. so far i have just been perusing the posts which have been helpful, but i thought i might as well jump in. i'm 29 years old and have been stuggling with drinking since i can remember. within the past year, my life completely bottomed out. i essentially ended up homeless, my car was totaled (although i escaped with minor injuries and no one else was hurt), and ultimately i had to move out of state to move in with family to try and recover and re-gain both my mental and financial stability. i did so by becoming sober and in two months time i was well enough to return to my home area and go back out on my own.
upon returning home, i stayed sober for one month, but ultimately began to miss socializing occasionally with friends. i rationalized that if i could could go without a drink for 3 months, then it should be no problem to simply just drink once in a while. that plan quickly got away from me and now, four months later, i am dangerously close to where i was a year ago.
next week i am doing an alcohol intake at a place called new horizons. i have previously been to one aa meeting which i found extremely intimidating. my alcoholism has been so intensely private and painful for me that the idea of trying to share any of that with a roomful of strangers is absolutely daunting. i feel like i am at the very beginning of facing my demons with alcohol and i guess i am just looking for any advice or words of wisdom that anyone might have to offer at this early stage.
thanks!!
jill
Old 06-26-2009, 09:49 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi Jill

Welcome to SR. My advice for the moment is just to read as much as you can and post as much as you like.

I hope signing up here, together with your plans next week, can be the start of a new life for you

D
Old 06-26-2009, 09:50 PM
  # 3 (permalink)