Notices

on the brink

Old 06-19-2009, 03:22 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

on the brink

i'm very new to sobriety. it's the hardest thing i've ever taken on. i have to do it right this time. i'm on the brink of losing everything dear to me because of my drinking. my wife told me today she was praying for the strength to leave me. i don't blame her but hearing her say that has really ripped me apart. she doesn't care to hear my appologies anymore. again, can't blame her. it's the same thing every day. i started taking antabuse awhile back and i even drank while on that knowing that it could be potentially fatal. that's how much control alcohol has over me. i've found a really good sponsor and have been attending aa. i want to stay positive but i really cannot imagine beating this. i feel very alone but can blame no one but myself. i wish they made more severe versions of antabuse. for example: if you drink while taking this medication your testicles will fall off. my will is the weakest i've ever known. i'm going through the 12 steps with my sponsor and it's all been very positive and uplifting. i still have my doubts that i'll beat this disease. it's good to be on this page and at meetings to be reminded that i'm not alone.
Old 06-19-2009, 03:26 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome janitorking...

Your doing the right things, the more days you get away from the bottle, the more it will begin to seem possible that you will recover.

Mark
Old 06-19-2009, 03:28 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
bona fido dog-lover

Best thing to remember is to take it one day at a time. Don't think about tomorrow, just don't drink today. If you break it down into small steps you CAN beat this addiction. Stay close to your meetings and your sponsor and this site. I get a lot of help here and treasure my friends here. They support me in this battle and it gives me a lot of strength.

:ghug2
Old 06-19-2009, 03:31 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  
Forum Leader

Location: Scottsdale, AZ, one big happy dysfunctional family!