Need someone to talk to. . .

Old 06-17-2009, 09:51 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Need someone to talk to. . .

Hi, everyone. I am new to SoberRecovery. I am a wife of a crack addict. We have been married for 23 years and have two wonderful children, 22 and 19. My husband has not always been an addict. Nine years ago we learned that our daughter was molested by a family member and during that time we also suffered 6 family deaths (dad, all four grandparents within a 2 year period). My husband was always a hard worker and great provider. He began working turn arounds and just started to withdraw from everything. Because of the discovery of the secret that our daughter had carried with her for a long time, we all went into shock. Things changed. . .that's when he was turned on to crack by a guy he worked with and his using went undetected for a year before he begged me to help him.

That's when my journey of loving an addict began. It has been a long hard journey, one that I was not prepared for. We went through 6 rehab programs from 2001 to 2006. In May of 2006, my husband came home from a 9 month stay, with a new look on life and on fire for the Lord. Our family was on the way to recovery. The last 3 years have been great. Both of our children graduated from high school and we even bought a RV so that we could start traveling (a dream we have had for a long time). I believed that the man I had been with since I was 16, the only man I have ever loved, was gonna be okay.