Notices

Newbie here!

Old 06-09-2009, 09:01 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Newbie here!

Hello all I just found this forum today in my search on how to stop using. It seems I have a problem and can't quite get my head around the fact that I can't just stop on my own that I need help. I know I need help but I can't talk to my family they will just tell me that you should have known better seeing as how my mother is a recovering addict. How do you stop cold turkey?? I am not sure I can. I haven't used since yesterday (6-8) morning about 7 am
Old 06-09-2009, 09:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  
We Do Recover

Welcome! Glad you are here. Some things you shouldn't stop on your own---could be dangerous....may need medical assistance to detox. May want to consult a DR. In the meantime--You will find lots of support here. We do recover.
Old 06-09-2009, 09:10 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Heathen

Not sure what you'd be detoxing from.. but definitely consult a doctor for advice, detoxing alone can be very dangerous.
Old 06-09-2009, 09:12 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

I am so afraid of talking to my doctor about this I am so ashamed of what they will tell me or think of me. Oh I think I forgot to tell you all what I was addicted to: oxycodone. I have a job that I can't lose for fear of losing my house I have a husband that I have to take care of most of the time and I just don't have the time (or at least I dont' think) I have the time to go to meetings or check myself into a rehab center. I know excuses excuses. Just kick me out now.
Old 06-09-2009, 09:18 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Leap of Faith Survivor

Hi Pumpkin and welcome to SR
you may also want to check out the Substance Abuse forum..
Old 06-09-2009, 09:53 AM
  # 6 (permalink)  
Follow Directions!

my mother is a recovering addict