Notices

relationships

Old 06-06-2009, 09:04 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

relationships

This is my first time here. I am in need of advice for my relationship. I have been living with a man for over 10 years and have been with him for 13 years next week.
We met at a bar and did drink. I was more of a out on the town drinker, he would have a few beers at home. He has been sober for 4 years next month and I am so proud of him. I am totally supportive of his sobriety and need to attend AA meeting. He wants to be a better man.
All was welll until this week. He had a female friend he grew with who also attends meetings. Somehow this turned into a relationship which I found out about. He swears it was only a few months and nothing is going on now. He explained that he was just getting into AA seriously and he shared alot with this person. It was not about me, he was searching and it just happened. We have both talked and cried for the past two days. He says he does not want to end our relationship. I dont either. He still have phone conversations with the woman and said it will stop immediately.
I know he has been through alot emotionally and has been finally dealing with his past, so i almost understand how vulnerable he was.
Any advice?
Old 06-06-2009, 09:21 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  
mergirl

Only you know in your heart if you can forgive him. My only advice is to try and truly know your heart, because if you stay in the relationship and harbor resentment it will hurt you both.
Old 06-07-2009, 03:55 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

Going through the whole recovery process is life changing. My marriage was totally unhealthy and my husband divorced me. I AM GRATEFUL to not be with him any more and as well, I'm still sober.

I bet what I went through and your situation is like comparing apples to oranges as I didn't read anything about a horrible relationship, just that he's gotten sober. Good for him.