Notices

new

Old 06-03-2009, 03:39 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

new

I'll try to keep this as short as I can. I've been drinking heavily for 3 years. I guess I technically started at 18, but I never really cared for it until I turned 21.

I began drinking every day. Heavily. Ignored responsibilities, got a dwi, marriage suffered, gained weight, and that still wasn't enough to keep me away.

I didn't realize how much my body depended on alcohol until I decided to quit cold turkey one night. (Oh, I forgot to mention that I was taking sleeping pills, as if the 1/2 gallon of vodka wasn't enough to knock me out)

My anxiety was so severe, I had to call my doc at 10:30 at night. When I closed my eyes and tried to sleep, I would see this bizarre, vivid images. She made me come in the next day and I finally had to be honest about my drinking. She suggested AA.

I quit taking the pills, but not the drinking. I managed to ween it down to just the weekends. Problem was, it wasn't like I was having a few social drinks. I was getting blackouts every weekend. I'd wake up with cuts and bruises from being fall down stupid drunk.

I've been reading these boards for a while. I've also been to AA in the past, but it was court ordered and I didn't give a ****. I'd just drink after the meetings.

I went to my first AA meeting in 3 years yesterday.(btw, did NOT drink after meeting) I'm going back today. I'm sick of alcohol. It's not fun anymore. I can't handle the hangovers. It's not even the headaches that get to me, it's this feeling I can't explain all over my body. I call it the ick.

During the week, I'm ok. It's the weekends that scare me. So, this Friday and Saturday, I'm planning on going in. I like the feeling that if i'm not there like I say, they'll know exactly what I did. And I'll have to look them all in the face next time. That might not be right, but it works for now.

Anyway, that's my little intro. Sorry so long! But it felt good to put it all out there.