Notices

how would you answer this???

Old 05-17-2009, 09:37 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

how would you answer this???

if some one askes you fancy coming out for a drink and they question you why dont you want an alcoholic drink... do you

A/ say im a recovering alcoholic
B/ im not a drinker
C/ im alergic to alcohol
D/ im on medication
E/ i dont want a hangover in the morning

a lot of people feel embarresed to say im a recovering alcoholic because it sounds bad ,,when really all it is ,,is that we react differently to alcohol and cant control it,,,me i just tell them im not a drinker
Old 05-17-2009, 10:01 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

easy.........i dont drink.

or because im a driver..its easy for me to say ive gotta go to work or im on call.

but then again i dont find myself amongst drinkers much.
Old 05-17-2009, 10:09 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Living in sobriety

Depends......whos asking??? And if the question is why dont I drink??

Is it family, friend, neighbour, work person , the guy from local insurance company, driving instructor...whos askin?? and why
Old 05-17-2009, 10:32 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

In the first year of sobriety, I was terrified over how I would handle this. It ws one of the first questions I had of those i met in the program. What I had heard the most often was to tell the person you were on antibiotics, if explaining why I wasn't drinking was uncomfortable.

No one asks me now *to go for a drink* only come to think of it, but I'm a little older than you are based on the picture. If I am out for dinner with friends or new friends, I just order a Perrier. No one asks me why, because not having alcohol isn't normally odd unless one has a problem with alcohol, or so I have found.
Old 05-17-2009, 10:46 AM
  # 5 (permalink)  
Thriving sober since 12/18/08