Husband left detox saturday- Still seems Drunk

Old 05-13-2009, 11:09 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Husband left detox saturday- Still seems Drunk

Hi Everyone-
this is my first post and I am very new to all of this. My husband got home from detox Saturday (not rehab, strictly detox) - He was there for 11 days, it was his first attempt at detox, but he still seems drunk to me. His speech is slurred he can't walk straight and I think he's drinking still. Is is possible that he is still experiencing effects of the medication he was given in detox? He was given Libirum up until Friday.
He swears that he is not drinking and I can't smell it or find it, but he is VERY good at hiding it. We acutally are having a baby this year that we decided to conceive after he had already led me to believe he was maintaining sobriety.
I have so many other questions about what to expect, but for now anybody with any info about this would be appreciated. Thanks!
Old 05-13-2009, 11:18 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Welcome to SR

I've no idea how it would have affected your husband, but when my brother had librium he seemed drunk for a few days after he stopped taking them, and I know he wasn't because we we're told to closely supervise him by the doctor, so he never had access to drink nor was he able to get his own for that few days at least.
Old 05-13-2009, 11:35 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  

If he hasn't had any Librium since last Thursday, I find it hard to believe he's still feeling the effects of that.

Since you will now be bringing a baby into the equation, my question to you is what are your boundaries? What are you willing to live with/not live with?
Old 05-13-2009, 02:11 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

well, let me stir the pot a bit more, there are 2 other children in our home- his from a previous marriage and mine.