Notices

please talk to me

Old 03-26-2009, 06:53 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

please talk to me

Hi i am new to all of this. My partner is a recovering addict of alcohol and meth. She has been clean and sober for just over a year. I dont know what my role is suppose to be. I try to be there for her in all aspects. Encouraged her to get a job, fixed her car so she could get to the job or just able to get out during the day while i am at work. I know that sitting idle is not good b/c it gives to much time to think about and miss the lifestyle.
She gets upset with me b/c i ask her to help around the house. i told her that she is acting as if she has no ambition and she told me that her ambition is stay clean and sober on a daily basis.

I guess what i need to know is what am i suppose to do to keep my life and my sons life normal, as it was before she moved in, without putting pressure on her? I feel as if i am walking on egg shells b/c i don't want to be a trigger.

Help please, any advice would be a great starting place for me

Lost Heart:wtf2
Old 03-26-2009, 06:59 PM
  # 2 (permalink)  

Hi

Welcome... I would post your question in the friends and family section, you will get excellent responses from people who have lived what you are.

Mark
Old 03-26-2009, 06:59 PM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Administrator

Hi and Welcome,

I think it might be hard to keep your life the same as it was before your partner moved in, but, you can find support for yourself. Have you looked at AlAnon or NarAnon meetings in your area? Those could be helpful for you and give you support.

Hopefully your partner will continue her recovery.
Old 03-26-2009, 07:05 PM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Originally Posted by lostheart View Post