Crack addiction - how do you know?

Old 03-20-2009, 03:44 AM
  # 1 (permalink)  
Queen of the O2 People!

Crack addiction - how do you know?

Okay....how do you know if someone is truly ADDICTED to crack? When i think of someone who's addicted to crack, I'd usually think of someone that smokes it every day, as their main substance of choice.

But..what if the person only smokes it intermittently, has no set pattern of how often they smoke it. They just tend to go off on crack binges for a night every so often. They go weeks or months without doing it...then suddenly end up bingeing.

Are they considered addicted to crack, even though they don't smoke it every day?
Old 03-20-2009, 04:07 AM
  # 2 (permalink)  

I'm not a professional, but I would say yes, they are addicted. Their compulsion to use is there, and we know this is a progressive disease. Just like there are binge alcoholics...
Old 03-20-2009, 04:18 AM
  # 3 (permalink)  
Queen of the O2 People!

Thank you for your reply BohemiMama. I wasn't sure if I should classify my AB as being addicted to crack or not. Pain pills are his usual substance. (Vicadin, Percocet, Oxycontin) They are what he has to have every day to function or go through withdrawl.

Then there's the random crack binges. I don't know if he's just desperate to get high and can't find any pills, so he smokes the crack instead b/c its easier to find and cheaper.

Anyway, whatever his reasoning behind the crack binge is, I just wasn't sure if it would be considered an "addiction" to crack or not.

I'm rambling. SOrry. lol Thanks for your reply!
Old 03-20-2009, 04:18 AM
  # 4 (permalink)  

Wow that is a good question and one I am not qualified for, but it has always been my understanding that your an addict if your actions have a negative affect on your life and the life of the ones around you.