Notices

Hi Everyone

Old 03-15-2009, 07:18 PM
  # 1 (permalink)  

Hi Everyone

I am new to the site and figured I would post an abridged version of my story not only for my own benefit, but also for anyone who cares to read these sorts of things. I am 24 years old (will be 25 in about a week and a half), hold a degree from a prestigious university and I am in my second year of law school. I am also an alcoholic, and have come close to losing everything I have worked so hard for. When I entered college 7 years ago, I was 6'1 and a solid 225 pounds--I was built like a boxer. Healthy, happy. Now I'm 325 pounds, I'm on Lexapro for depression and anxiety and Ambien for insomnia on the nights when I did not drink.

I was in denial until about a week ago. I did not drink everyday, or most days for that matter. But on the days that I did drink I left a wake of wreckage in my path. Over the past few years I would have bouts where my shame on the mornings after would cause me to curb my drinking for a short period of time. Any alcoholic will tell you that "I just won't drink liquor anymore" turns into "I just won't take shots" turns into blackout drunk in the blink of an eye. My descent was gradual, not becoming a major problem until about 5 years ago, though I have been drinking for more like 10 years. 6 days ago, when I found out I am failing out of law school because my hangovers have led me to miss so many classes, I drank until I was belligerent and wanted to kill myself. My wife heard me crying and came downstairs at 3 in the morning and stayed with me until the doctor's office opened. We went and I was forthcoming, and I told her I needed help.